These are a few of my favorite things…

These are a few of my favorite things during the summer in Upstate New York…

I always make a point of getting to Darwin’s in Syracuse for lunch and Hatties in Saratoga for fried chicken. And for summer dinners, there are a few places I like to get to while I am off from teaching: Circa for  a casual but seasonal dinner in Cazenovia, Rosalies in Skaneateles for a special occasion dinner, Elderberry Pond in Skaneateles for when the weather is perfect, and Northstar  for a locavore dinner in Ithaca. These are places I particularly enjoy in the summer because they are either a bit of a drive from where I live, or they have really great ambiance and seasonal menus.

Last week we went to dinner at Circa with friends. The waiter told us they had just changed menus so we were trying out the brand new summer menu.ImageWe started with the roasted beets, cucumbers and pea shoots salad in a goat cheese mint dressing which was light and delicious.

For my entree I had the Carne Asada (grilled shaved marinated beef) tacos which were juicy, flavorful and topped with a large scoop of fresh guacamole. My friends had the savory sea food stew which I also tasted. It was very fresh and came in a light broth. We decided it could almost be an appetizer.Image

Can you see the delicious guacamole and beef?And even the tortilla was amazing.Image

We finished our meal with the lovely cheese plate which features local and artisan cheeses. Image

I usually get a sweet treat to end such a nice dinner, but I was so full that I could barely finish my tacos or sample the cheese. I hope to get back later this summer. I always think of Circa fondly.  If you happen to have a lazy weekend, Circa is worth the drive. Check out their summer menu here.

What are some of your favorite things in the summer?

4 thoughts on “These are a few of my favorite things…

  1. I, too, really enjoy the restaurants you’ve sited in your post during the summer months. One of the other restaurants I really enjoy during the summer months is the Brewster Inn in Cazenovia. The location can’t be beat. In fact, we really visited and enjoyed all of our selections: the mushroom ravioli, oysters, salmon, and scallops – all were wonderfully prepared. The Inn’s store is also worth visiting, especially for the french-style ice cream and sorbets. I also very much enjoy the Blue Mingo Grill in Cooperstown, primarily for lunch – again, the location can’t be beat. It’s casual enough to show up after boating, or to arrive by boat.

  2. I have only been to the Brewster Inn for brunch in the summer and for dinner in the winter. I’ll have to give the dinner another try this summer! And yes, I agree with you about Blue Mingo!

  3. Circa is just about my favorite restaurant in the area. I cannot wait to get out there and try the new menu. No visit there is ever complete without their cheese plate which I obsess over more than is truly necessary.

Leave a Reply

